It’s the liberal way or the highway…

Posted: June 12, 2020 in Politics
Tags: , ,

I had tweeted this as a thread, but I thought I should put it on my blog for posterity.

I think the only reason I became such a vocal Modi supporter in 2014 was that the despicable, hypocritical left-liberals with the tacit support of Congress and the Left decided they would not respect the election mandate or the laws and blindly oppose anything this government proposed with protests and PILs.

I had never seen anything like it since I began voting at an early age. Whatever my political leanings, I stood by the government in power. I was too young to vote but remember the protests against Indira for subverting democracy. That’s how democracy worked then – until 2014, at least.

In 2014, Narendra Modi won an election fair and square. Even those like me who didn’t vote for Modi, knew he was going to win because India had hit a huge pothole called Congress and its dynasties that ruled us and people wanted them out. Modi promised to do that.

Now had the protests against Modi begun in the middle of his first term one could understand, but they began in the first few weeks of his rule. I thought people were letting off steam and things would settle down. But they didn’t. They picked up the pace. Then I saw those familiar faces behind protests and PILs.

This was the power-hungry dynasty and its stooges being bad losers and instigating the people to protest against a legally elected PM. They were scared of losing power to a generation that had seen through them. Sane voices were rudely shoved aside, jeered and heckled. This was a new India I hadn’t seen before. And I didn’t like it.

The hypocrisy of left-liberals left me quite breathless and so did their justifications for political expediency. Certain definitions were being assiduously promoted. It began with the whitewashing of the Delhi riots. A riot in a BJP-ruled state after a train is burnt was a pogrom but a state-managed riot after the killing of a PM was just an aberration so can we look beyond it, please? Riots before 2014? Nah, again just aberrations. “SHUT UP. We don’t want to talk about it”.

Befriending a Muslim, visiting a mosque, eating beef was the sign of being a liberal. But visiting a temple or wearing a Kautuka or Janeuyu made you a rabid ‘bhakt’. Having a Muslim friend, who wore a skull cap and prayed five times a day and calling him ‘bhai’ made you a liberal but befriending a Hindu who said ‘Jai Shri Ram and wanted a Ram temple, made you a Fascist.

I will hold the left-liberals responsible for this divide. The more they tried to vilify a community, the louder the other side got. Now, I am no temple-hopping, chest-thumping Hindu. Not even today, despite all that’s swirling around me. But back in 2014, something inside me snapped. Today, the neo-liberals (and I call them that deliberately because they are no better than the neo-fascists in Germany) were and are browbeating people to come around to their viewpoint.

If you think I am exaggerating, look at what is happening around you today in India and all over the world. It is they who want a new world order and a new order in India even if it means resorting to violence and mayhem. They believe Modi and his ‘bhakts’ are a threat to their existence. Well, they have a fight on their hands.

The ‘bhakts’ have seen Power and want more. Their man rules this country and they are propagating His vision of a new India. They’ve waited a hundred years and if you don’t like it, it’s just too bad. They don’t care anymore what anyone thinks. And again, this wouldn’t have happened if the liberals hadn’t tried pushing them into a corner. Because now more than anything else, all they want is to keep the liberals out – come what may.

To understand more read this: https://mohansblog.wordpress.com/2017/10/29/from-a-nehru-dynasty-fan-to-a-modi-bhakt/

 

Comments
  1. jkdbombay says:

    🙏🏻👌🏻🙏🏻👌🏻🙏🏻👌🏻🙏🏻👌🏻🙏🏻

  2. Zephyr says:

    Thanks for speaking the minds of so many of us who were literally pushed to come out with our fists flaying to ward off the underhand punches and thrusts made by these worthies.

Leave a comment