One year…and still here

Posted: January 15, 2010 in blogging
Tags:

Posts – 104; Hits – 4480; Visits – 532; Page views – 1,082; Followers – 54 ….It has been a year since I started blogging. If 54 and had been 104, it would have looked even better, but looking at those figures, I don’t know if it’s a good or a bad start for a guy who once fell into a drum. This nugget was supplied to me by an old friend Zubin Kabraji. I guess he knew, because I obviously, had no recollection, probably because I was in no condition to remember!
Why did I start blogging? To be truthful, I saw a blog by a colleague on cookery and said to myself…“If she can do this, why can’t I?” And I wasn’t demeaning her efforts, but if someone could start a blog on recipes, I could surely write a few hundred words every week. Thank you, Anjali, you were my inspiration!
I was also warned by friends that blogging wasn’t everyone’s cuppa. That it was difficult to keep the content flowing day after day. To be honest, there were days I said to myself, “Shit, I can’t do this every day.”
That’s why some blogs were just rants, some pretty crappy, while others were straight from the heart. But isn’t that how our minds work? Unless, of course, like race horses, we go through life with blinkers on!
A couple of my posts have been featured in some newspapers while some were used as a subject of discussion on other blogs and discussion sites. I have got a few acerbic reactions from students, friends and even anonymous bloggers – ALL of which I have posted on my blog.
I wrote about various things, probably because I myself have done, and am still doing, a lot of different things! I don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing. I don’t know whether it’s better to be a jack of all trades and a master of none or vice versa. But I’ve never been one to do something, just because someone said I should or shouldn’t. It’s mostly been because someone said I can’t.
Between working in a hotel, five newspaper offices, two IT companies, three media institutes, blogging and writing a book…it’s been fun. Maybe, if I could have done things differently, I would have been elsewhere, bigger, better. But then I might never have had so much fun, never met so many people and never had the opportunity to interact with so many youngsters, who showed me life from a fresh perspective.
I had also decided that the blog wouldn’t be one dimensional and I’ve stuck by that. A lot of former colleagues from my media days write on education or technology, based on their interest, but I didn’t want to confine myself to that. I’ve no interest in ‘educating’ anyone or preaching, because that’s never been my interest.
To all those who follow my blog…a big thank you! I wouldn’t have been there nor done that without you.
And to my students, even if I am not teaching anymore tomorrow…enjoy whatever you do!
Now, an honest confession… It took me two weeks to write this one! Why? Because, it’s very easy to criticise, but far more difficult to praise – even oneself!!!

Comments
  1. zubin Kabraji says:

    I recall notifying the crowd that you were in the drum and then subsequently helped rescue you before you drowned in unopened bottles of beer – but how you fell in, still remains a mystery !

  2. Anonymous says:

    Sir, I started following your blog from the blog you wrote on Internship-The hameltion dilemma, from then till now I have been waiting everyday for your new posts so that I can get to see a new perspective on story which the media is covering , your blogs always has been different , and have always added a new aspect of any story…..Even the senior reporters to whom I have shown your posts admit the fact that you always keep a fresh and new aspect of a story in front of your readers. Thanks a lot for your blogs and I hope you will continue your posts and we always will be able to see more of your writings.And a honest confession I would have really gained much if I would have paid attention to your classes rather than mugging your ppts.Thank you

  3. Mohan says:

    Thank you, Anonymous! I am touched. If what I have said in my classes have made even a small difference to my students, I am happy.

  4. Naman Saraiya says:

    The road ahead is longer than it seems.We keep looking forward to more posts, day after day, only to bring a smile to our faces. Or maybe a little more information to our heads. It all helps, in the end.Thank you.:)

  5. Anonymous says:

    I have known you for a long time and have seen some and known a lot of the ups and downs .I am glad that you have not done things differently. You have enriched so many lives just like your Mom and that, is the ultimate compliment!!

  6. Janhavi :-) says:

    This one surely is a classic piece. . . Keep going !!! We are waiting for more opinions, views, criticism and of course praise on many more subjects from you . . . 🙂

Leave a Reply

