American and Indian Avatars!

Posted: January 6, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags:

Ok, so I saw the much-hyped Avatar or Avataar or whatever. You can guess where this is going, can’t
Nice 3-D. Just nice, mind you… There was nothing in it that made me go ‘wow’ except in a couple of scenes. After I had read and heard some of the comments about the film, my curiosity was aroused, and considering all that, it was a letdown.
I don’t know whether it was the experience of wearing those 3-D spectacles or just the convoluted storyline, but there were moments during the film when I thought I was going to fall asleep. To be honest, I thought the film was pretty tedious.
The story was crap. I mean, for how long are we going to see all this Rambo-type stuff? It’s ok in the US, because over there they probably need a superhero to reassure them that they are still the great superpower. That, considering the fact that they’ve been running around in circles trying to nail one turbaned and bearded guy, sitting in a cave in the mountains somewhere in Afghanistan!
And anyway, the Americans just love to preach, don’t they? Funnily, the film was all homily first and brute force later. Almost as if to say, if you don’t do what we say, we’ll break you. It’s a bit like George Bush saying “If you are not with us …”
But that’s the American way. How about the Indian way? And to my pet hate – the broadcast media! I watched ‘Chief Justice’ Arnab Goswami wagging his finger and browbeating the hapless captain of the Churchill Brothers football team, who has been accused of allegedly molesting an air hostess. The Nigerian looked like a frightened deer caught between a car’s headlights, desperately looking for a way out.
And Mr Goswami hunched over his desk, stared down at the poor chap, waved his pinkie menacingly and shrieked like one of Macbeth’s witches, “Now, you listen to me, you have been accused of molesting an air hostess. Do you plead guilty?”
I half expected the poor sod to jump out of his seat, fall to his knees and plead “guilty as charged my Lord!” It was nothing but the lowest form of bullying. You could see the was terrified at being ripped apart in front of a million viewers. Whether the footballer was guilty or not, who the f*** gave Arnab the right to play judge and executioner?
And then there was this moron from CNN IBN who asked an Army commando engaged in flushing out terrorists from Lal Chowk this evening – “What is your strategy in dealing with the militants?”
26/11 is still fresh in everyone’s collective memory but some TV reporters just don’t learn do they?

Comments
  1. Laralils says:

    I suppose we're all entitled to our own opinions.. But, I'm going to defend Avatar a little here.I have to agree… the story wasn't phenomenally earth-shattering or anything… it's probably a different version of things that have been covered before..But the artwork and design and execution that went into this film along with the cinematography and special effects were beyond awesome. the art is out of this world!and I think one concept that stood out and struck a chord, with me anyway, was the fact that the human race in this movie was portrayed as the "alien"..something I feel we're fast becoming to ourselves.. because if theres one thing we're willing to do in this world is sacrifice things truly beautiful (much like memories and nature,like in the movie)for things like more material.. sounds preachy- yes. but it's the truth.

  2. Pradeep says:

    Somehow, I have never liked Arnab Goswami. Comes across as a pretentious, self-righteous, arrogant prick. Avatar, in my opinion was awesome. Superb visuals. People may over simplify and say that it is like any good vs evil story. But never have we, human beings, been the evil entity in any film. And to think that the actors did all of their scenes on an empty sound stage, with no idea of what they were supposed to be looking at or reacting to, trusting the captain of the 'ship', James Cameron, (ironically, the director of Titanic ;)) I think 3D is the way of the future. My kids will most certainly be watching all of their films on 3D.

  3. Zubin Kabraji says:

    Somehow somewhere I feel that Arnab Goswami needs to climb a banana tree and consume the fruit by the bunch – leaves, skin, stalk and all. Its possible he may then slip of his perch and fall !

Leave a Reply

