Off Facebook, as promised…for now

Posted: January 3, 2010 in Facebook

Some good things may come to an end. I am not going to say anything more, so let’s just wait and see how it goes…
I promised I’d go off Facebook on December 31 and I did. I deactivated my account and I’m going to stay away, till I feel like getting back. They have a nice option which asks you if you would like to return or something on those lines and I clicked on that! Let’s see how I feel a month or so down the line – whether I miss the endless chatter and the smart quips of my students and friends!
The fact is I got quite tired reading stuff from people who were using Facebook as a short messaging service. What do you say when you read stuff like “Are you there?” or “abey saale kahan hain?” I know Facebook is a social networking site, that connects, but some people seemed to have taken that tagline, a mite too literally.
Initially, I was really thrilled meeting so many people on the site, some really old friends and some cousins who I had hardly ever been able to keep in touch with for various reasons. I really thought it was such a wonderful way to connect.
Suddenly friends and acquaintances were popping up from somewhere asking me if I was the same guy they used to know 20 or 30 years ago, – I was doing the same – and it really freaked me out.
I was getting invites from so many of the kids I taught that I had lost count. When I decided to take a break I noticed I had 370-odd friends in my group. That might not be too many, but was still a lot considering that my relatives and actual friends didn’t go over 75! And it was quite flattering to note that so many people read the updates I posted and commented quite regularly. Thanks everyone!
No offence to any of the people in my group, but I think I just got tired of it. You know, after a while you wonder what the hell you’re doing there – well that’s the feeling I got. I get that feeling about a lot of things in my life intermittently!
And then there were those inane groups people sent you an invite to. For the life of me I can’t figure out who actually likes to join some sort of dumb farm and do a bit of virtual farming! Some of the applications– to put it mildly – were bizarre.
Then there were all these kids who kept going from ‘single’ to ‘in a relationship’ to ‘in a confused relationship’ to ‘single’ in a matter of weeks! Or is that days? Now I know why my sister-in-law and her husband get jittery every time their 17-year-old daughter logs on to Facebook. They’ve also banned her from putting her picture there!
So who knows when I’ll be back! And especially, post-January 11, who knows at all! So if any of you want to get in touch me….call or email me! No Facebook please!

Comments
  1. Pradeep says:

    I agree about how irritating Facebook can get at times… But still, I like just hanging around, watching the way the human mind works… One question – how does one get to know about a new post on your blog, now that Facebook has been ruled out as the messenger?

  2. Mohan says:

    You are supposed to become a follower of my blog! I guess you get a notification when I post something!

Leave a Reply

