Idea Cellular, a very bad Idea sir ji!

Posted: July 11, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

I don’t know what your experience with Idea Cellular has been, but mine has been pretty bad, Sir ji — and never mind what AB jr. says.

Let me explain. Idea is a great network when you are in the middle of the city, but step out and it just goes dead.

Heck, it doesn’t even work at Nande village, some 6 kms off the Pune-Mumbai highway!
When we went on our holiday in May, I realised that connecting with Idea Cellular was a pretty bad idea. Sorry for the terrible pun, but I think it fits pretty well here!
I lost connectivity for a quite a distance between Pune and Bijapur. It worked in Bijapur but once we left the place on our way to Hampi we lost connectivity again. We travelled to Hampi and from there to Dharwad, At Hampi we had no connectivity, and till we reached Dharwad, I was carrying a mobile phone, which was basically a dud.
Once we left Dharwad for Dandeli, Idea failed us again and only started when we reached Belgaum, after spending three days in Dandeli. It stopped again between Belgaum and Kolhapur and connected again we reached Kolhapur.
By the time we left Kolhapur on our way to Dapoli, it was off again! It finally began to work when we reached NH 4 on our way to Pune from Mahabaleshwar.
I had let my wife use the Reliance connection and took two Idea connections for myself. The irony of it all was that while my Idea service was screwed up, my wife’s mobile worked like a dream EVERWHERE, except at Dapoli.
I am now looking for a mobile service provider that can give me uninterrupted service. Any suggestions?
Comments
  1. Shweta says:

    I use BSNL mobile, Sir. It's worked absolutely everywhere so far. Even on top of Sinhgad Fort, where no other network worked. Since it's a network by the government, it is supposed to work everywhere…and it does.So BSNL is the best option according to me.

  2. Mohan says:

    Hi Shweta,Thanks for that. Somebody else also told me about BSNL, but I guess I am just making sure

  3. Nishit says:

    What a view (on IDEA), Sirji? :)I use BSNL. It has good network in rural areas. I experienced this, when I was in KUTCH.Even Reliance is not bad at all. It also has good network in rural as well as semi-urban areas. So u can choose between deepika padukone endorsed BSNL or hrithik roshan endorsed Reliance

Leave a Reply

