Blah, blah, blah, according to Dr Ramadoss

Posted: February 6, 2009 in diabetics
Tags: , ,

Did any of you hear Health Minister Dr Anbumani Ramadoss on the news channels yesterday? Did he make you laugh? Well, he didn’t make me laugh, he just made me mad. And I guess it shows here… Responding to the CNN-IBN anchor’s query on how a citizen had to move court to force AIIMS to act, the minister smirked his way through some utter gibberish, about how everyone was entitled to proper medical care and how no hospital could deny anyone…blah, blah, blah. It almost looked like he was reading from a teleprompter. I think Mr Ramadoss lives in lu lu land. Otherwise he would have known, like us poor mortals do, that anywhere in this country hospitals make their own rules when it comes to admitting patients — unless, of course, it happens to be someone with influence or political clout. Oh, and he insisted that this was an isolated case. Even as he was spouting his crap, the same channel showed another citizen saying that AIIMS had refused to operate on someone because the family had not paid the hospital fees. And here too another suited-booted joker spouted exactly the same lines. I wonder if it’s written into their contracts! I thought I’d do my own little research on the web and look what I found. India has 20 million diabetics (and this is an old report…40 per cent of the world’s malnourished children live in India…There are over 2.5 million AIDS cases in India Of the patients who are on dialysis… 69 to 71% die on dialysis or stop treatment (due to financial reasons), the majority within the first three months of initiation of dialysis, and only 17 to 23% patients end up having a kidney transplant because of the costs involvd. This is just the tip of the proverbial iceberg, and I could go on and on. So, Mr Ramadoss, would do better to enforce legislation that give people affordable healthcare and penalise hospitals which don’t, instead of wasting public money enacting laws that very few bother to follow. Let me quote a personal example. My mother died of Alzheimer’s disease a few years back and during the last stage (which I did not know then) of her life, I asked some neurosurgeons at the biggest hospital (again government-run in Lucknow, where I lived then), about medication that could slow the deterioration process. I was advised to give her medication that would cost around Rs 10,000 a month. I went for a second opinion and I was surprised to hear the doctor say that the illness was in the last stage, that she didn’t have much time left and the prescribed medication wouldn’t do ANYTHING for her health. I then consulted a third doctor and he told me exactly the same thing. They were both right, because my mother passed away a few months later. It speaks volumes of the ethics of some members of the medical fraternity. Back to the present, just yesterday as I was driving home, a hand came out of a car belonging to a government official (it had one of those beacons) and flicked away a ciggy. Will the good doctor (and I’m not referring to the one who heads our government) give us some decent health care, and not these dumb ‘public service’ campaigns who no one really gives a damn about

Leave a Reply

