Distress calls

Posted: January 28, 2009 in blogging
Tags: , , ,

Today’s Hindustan Times said that 50,000 people lost their jobs in one day in the US. DNA went a step ahead and said 85,000! Wow, that’s a lot of people to have staring at pink slips in one day. But what is more interesting is a news item I read a couple of days ago, which said that a US Republican senator wanted the companies who were retrenching staff to first move against HIB visa holders and only then sack locals. I completely agree with that sentiment. Isn’t that what Jet Airways intended to do here? Strangely enough, no one from our government is protesting.

But jokes aside, things are really spiraling out of control aren’t they? A young lady messaged me the other day on chat and said “Sir, I’m doomed. I’ve just been issued a pink slip.” I could sense that she was distraught and frustrated. What use was that Mass Communication degree and her experience if after working for two years she was jobless for no fault of hers?

Another friend in the media called me a few months before and asked me if I could help him get a job in a recently launched newspaper in Delhi. I told him not to because I didn’t think the newspaper would last long. It didn’t. He called the other day to thank me!

Sadly enough this is the reality of our times, and not just in the media business but everywhere you see. When will it end?

Comments
  1. pawan says:

    Dear Sir,You are doing a great job!What would be your message/ suggestion for the students who are looking towards their future in IT and software in India and abroad? RegardsPawan Patole

  2. Mohan says:

    Those who are thinking of getting into media and IT at this stage shouldn’t panic. Things should improve in the next year or two and anyway their courses last that long. The problem is now!

  3. pawan says:

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

